E-Mails to the Comic Shop #3

July 18, 2008 § Leave a comment

This e-mail is really a testimony of the shear power held by Chris and Jim (the Comic Shop Guys) because after writing this one I’m fairly convinced that one of them probably psychically implanted this idea into my wife’s head…and if that is true then that is a trick they need to teach me…that is definitly something that would come in handy around the house…

Chris,

So, this week while reading one of the many comic titles I pick up I was spouting off about something I didn’t like about the book and my beautiful wife decided to give me some advice.  I don’t remember which book it was but I like every other comic book reader (or connoisseur as I like to call myself) like to comment and criticize about most of the titles I read.  I do this because I like many others obviously know what is best for my favorite comic book characters not those two bit hacks that marvel hires to come up with new exciting plots and arches, introduce new characters, create a diversified cast, awesome fight scenes, uphold story integrity and give life to a book…ME, I DO!  That being said I was making a comment about some things that could be done, to whatever book I was reading at the time, that would make this book MUCH better.  So, my wife who’s getting ready for bed sticks her head out of the bathroom and says, "well why don’t you just tell that to Jim and Chris".
I in-turn replied, "What?"
She said, "Why don’t you just tell Jim and Chris so they can do something about it".
At this point even with the comment clarified I’m at a high level of confused and say to my wife, "What the hell would Jim and Chris do about it?"
She continues to explain to me that, "Well I kinda see Jim and Chris as being like Catholic Priests".
At this point I’m looking at her with my head turned to the side kinda looking like a stupid dog and ask, "How is that?"
"Well" she explains, "When your a catholic you have to talk to a priest who then talks to God for you.  Jim and Chris are like the priests who speak to the Marvel Comic Gods and your like a little school girl asking God to give you bigger boobies so the boys will like you more…except you know…with comic stuff."
I cracked up laughing and knew right then and there I HAD to tell you guys about this, you know, just in case the next time Michelle comes in the shop and asks for confession…you know why.

THE PULL

AMAZING SPIDERMAN # 566
CAPT AMERICA # 40
INCREDIBLE HERCULES # 119 SECRET INVASION TIE IN
IRON MAN: DIRECTOR OF SHIELD # 31
MIGHTY AVENGERS # 16 SECRET INVASION TIE IN
X-FACTOR # 33 SECRET INVASION TIE IN
X FORCE # 5  DIVIDED WE STAND
Also you forgot to put last weeks YOUNG XMEN in my box last week so…fix it please

See ya later in the week,
-Steve

Also, I was telling Jim about my website and I told him I would e-mail to you that way you could both enjoy my halarious personality and sense of humor all week long!  Your excited I know.  Here it is:
http://steve-swv.spaces.live.com
Enjoy

Cherishing moments like these,
~Steve

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading E-Mails to the Comic Shop #3 at One Stop Geek Shop.

meta

