X-Men Worlds Apart #4 Review

January 31, 2009 § 1 Comment

I’ll have to say…I picked this book up on a whim this week.  I had purchased #1 and after I read it, I thought to myself ‘another lame Storm vs the Shadow King story what is the purpose of this?’ and therefore didn’t pick up #2 or #3.  I’m still not quite sure what made me get #4, the cover art helped, but hands down one of the better X storied I’ve read in a while.
 

COVER BY: STEPHANE ROUX
WRITER: CHRISTOPHER YOST
PENCILS: DIOGENES NEVES
INKS: EDGAR TADEO
COLORED BY: RAUL TREVINO
THE STORY:
On one hand, her husband. On the other, her teammates. While Storm races to save the lives of the Black Panther and the X-Men, she recognizes a third option: take down the one responsible for making her choose in the first place. And to do it, she just might get some help from an unlikely source…
 
Like I said I wasn’t too interested in this story because I felt like it was just going to be another Storm vs The Shadow King typical story but as I flip open to the first pg 2-3 spread of #4 I knew right away that I was about to be proven wrong…
 
This is right up my alley.  Something that sucks me into a story is a rich character development and right away, Storm, a character whose strength comes from controlling her emotions, is distraught and pushing her own limits.  She is using her powers to get to her destination as quickly as possible.  By doing this she puts herself at risk but as she so beautifully states, "I will not let people die because of my weakness".
 
Turn the page and we see our beloved Cyke standing disheveled in a room of fallen comrades claiming to be saving them all while battling with Angel and Beast.  Then Enter:  Karma (Xi’an "Shan" Coy) and revealing of Cyke’s actions…The Shadow King (Amahl Farouk)!
 

The story progression at this point can be summarized very quickly, which I am about to do, but it’s not what makes this issue great (keep reading).  Next, we see the Shadow King systematically take over each of the X-Men still standing (Cyclops, Nezhno, Xi’an, Angel and Pixie) and with his taint makes them attack Storm.  Storm deals with each of them, outlined by a bit of perfectly matched dialog and fight scenes, until only Cyclops is left.  After a great fight and banter Storm ends it with the kill shot lightning bolt through Cyke’s chest.  This draws the Shadow King out and into Storm where the Panther God awaits and carries out just punishment to the Shadow King for his crimes…and by just I mean he gets EATEN!  Yep CHOMP CHOMP PANTHERS HUNGRY!

Good stories, for me, must have good characters and that is what made this issue great.  Storm has always been a cool mutant that can control the weather but in this story the reader is able to discover along with Storm who she is and what she values in life.  In this series and other X-titles Storm has been torn between being a Queen, X-Man, Wife, Mutant you name it and having a hard time prioritizing her life.  Through her friends controlled minds her failures are all laid out in front of her and she must make the decisions to fulfill all her many responsibilities. 

Next, along with Storm this book showcased Cyclops quite a bit.  I feel like in the past Cyke has never really been given credit for his abilities as leader of the X-Men.  First of all his mutant power is awesome and it’s seen in a few pages here.  First the one where he reflects his beam four times to finally hit Beast in the back and then when Storm makes the comment "Shadow King or not, Cyclops is a force to be reckoned with.  Much like my husband.  And while my husband’s ‘tough guy’ store can bring men to their knees, Cyclops’ stare can punch through steel" (awesome).  This along with Storms admiration of Cyke at the end of the story brings him to the forefront of the story and reveals him as more than just a guy who looks good in skin tight blue spandex.

While, I missed issues #2 and #3 after reading only #1 and #4 I’m thinking they were pretty much filler and maybe this was the only book worth while in the series but I enjoyed it immensely.

Answering my pillows cry for attention,
~Steve

 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading X-Men Worlds Apart #4 Review at One Stop Geek Shop.

meta

